When God answers differently

Hi there.

Ever feel like God is silent in your life? Ever feel like He’s been MIA? Well, I have one question: How is your quiet time? How is your relationship with Him?

Seek Him First

First things first. Relationships go both ways. You can’t keep on “crying out” to God and not spend time to wait for His answer. You can’t keep on praying and complaining (or maybe even grumbling), “Where is Your promise?” if you haven’t been reading your Bible and actually seeking Him. Now, I hope we don’t do it ONLY when we are asking something from Him. The famous verse from Matthew 6:33 says this “But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” It may sound easy, but when God tests you of your faith and what you really want in life, are you still willing to seek Him with ALL your heart, soul, and mind?

God’s “silence” might make us impatient and unfaithful at times but remember that it also reveals something. Silence or the absence of something doesn’t actually mean there’s nothing there. Sometimes it is necessary for us to be able to listen closely to what really matters.

1. Silence Reveals Our Hearts

Few days ago, I was having this battle in my heart of where should I belong. Now, we all have that question or questions like “Why am I here?” “What am I doing with my life?” “Where should I go?” “What should I do with my life?.” (Or am I the only one? If you have the same question/s as I do, then keep on reading.) Back to the questions at hand, I was actually questioning God. I have to say that I’m not proud of that. But it’s human nature to question things “why,” “why not,” or “how.” And do you know what happens when you keep asking these questions? It burdens you! It weighs you down and it is not healthy for all the aspects of your life, especially spiritually. It happened to me. Where’s the faith in there?

“Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord,’
and not do what I tell you?” Luke 6:46.

When we ask God for something and He doesn’t respond in a way that we want to, what does that tell us about our hearts? What does that reveal to us? I hope and pray that whatever it is that you’re praying for doesn’t reveal “worldly” things. I hope that it doesn’t reveal our bitterness and dirty attitudes. However, the good news is even though it reveals those things in our hearts right now, He is more than willing to cleanse our hearts so that it He may reign over our lives once again. Whatever it is that you’re praying for and God’s response isn’t something you were hoping for, I pray that you’ll have a change in perspective about it. That you would see things the way God would want you to. I pray that you will be grateful for all the answers God has given you, whether you liked it or not. I pray that you will see things through God’s heart for you.

2. Silence Reveals God’s Glory in Our Lives

Whatever it is that you are going through right now, God is telling you:

“Cast your burden on the Lord,
and he will sustain you;” Psalm 55:22a

Is it that simple? Yes. In fact, it’s all He ever wants us to do. We have to acknowledge in humility that we are weak so that we may experience God’s strength and glory over our lives. This season will pass. Whatever trials you are in right now, it will pass. Embrace that season of hardships because once you get through that, His glory will be revealed and then all the more that we will realize that we are indeed NOTHING WITHOUT HIM. All the more that we will praise Him in every trial that we are going to face because the moment we realize in our hearts that we need Jesus, we are never going to stop praising Him for everything that we are going through. We have to know in our heart that as Christians, we must reflect God’s glory and character in us so that people who doesn’t know about Him will be amazed at who He is. And God is more than willing to guide us through that. He is more than willing to pick us up every time we fall short of His glory. He does not condemn us of our sins but He forgives and He loves us no matter what we have done against Him. And when we experience that love and forgiveness over our lives, He wants us to show others of this great love and forgiveness that we have experienced.

“Then I will teach transgressors your ways,
    and sinners will return to you.” Psalm 51:13

Jesus1.jpg

I prayed and asked God for certain things, yet He gave me so much more of what I needed and wanted. He gave me Jesus and indeed, He’s all I ever need.

wlp2

Leave a Reply

